Skip to main content
How do I set team-wide permissions?

How do I set team-wide permissions?

Customizing your team’s permissions is a great way to make the most of your Dropbox Business account.

Customize for your team
Team sharing permissions

Setting team-wide sharing permissions is key to any admin’s job. These permissions can apply to shared links, shared folders, and Paper docs. Whether you want users to be able to share files and folders externally or keep everything internal, you’ve got the power to make that call.

It’s important to understand how your team operates before you set those permissions. Do they send content back and forth for reviews with clients? If yes, limiting their ability to share externally might slow everyone down.

One helpful tip: permissions aren’t retroactive! If you change sharing permissions to limit external sharing, files, folders, and links previously shared with people outside the company will stay that way.

how-do-i-set-team-wide-permissions_team-sharing-permissions_image

Shared folder permissions

Shared folders are great for groups of people who work and collaborate on the same files. If a user owns a shared folder, then they can change permissions, which gives users a lot of flexibility in how they work. Keep in mind that any user can own a shared folder and set permissions for it—this isn’t just for admins.

how-do-i-set-team-wide-permissions_shared-folder-permissions_card-1

If you own the shared folder

If you create a shared folder, that means you’re the owner (unless it was created in a team folder). Owners can:

  • View folder content
  • View the members of the shared folders and their roles
  • Invite, remove, and email members
  • Change member roles
  • Leave or unshare the folder
  • Determine who can be invited and who can manage the folder
  • Make another member the owner
how-do-i-set-team-wide-permissions_shared-folder-permissions_card-2

If you’re an editor

By default, members of a shared folder have edit permissions. Editors can:

  • View folder content
  • View the members of the shared folders and their roles
  • Invite and remove members (except the owner)
  • Leave the folder
  • Email members
  • Edit folder contents
  • Change member roles
how-do-i-set-team-wide-permissions_shared-folder-permissions_card-3

If you’re a viewer

Viewers can:

  • View folder contents
  • View the members of the shared folder and their roles
  • Leave the folder
  • Email members

If you have view-only permissions, you’ll see a small lock icon on the shared folder.

Shared link permissions

If you want to share access to a file but don’t want someone to edit that file, you can share a link.

As an admin, you can control how your team members share links with people outside of your team from the admin console. Take a look at the different permissions below.

Team only, new links

If you choose to make shared links Team only, your team members who create links won’t have the option to make those links accessible to non-team members.

Team only, existing links

If you choose to make shared links Team only, that setting will apply retroactively. Any existing shared links will no longer be accessible to non-team members.

Keep it in sync

Smart Sync is a great tool that helps your team save hard drive space. As an admin, you have control over Smart Sync settings and can set a default for new content to either sync locally or online-only. End users can modify their own Smart Sync settings.

But remember: these settings aren’t retroactive. Whatever you set will only apply to new content.

how-do-i-set-team-wide-permissions_keep-it-in-sync_image
Setting team-wide sharing permissions

Customize your company’s Dropbox experience by setting specific sharing permissions.

Common questions

Have a question about team-wide permissions? We’ve likely got an answer. If you have a question that’s not listed here, check out help.dropbox.com for more answers.

My shared link stopped working! Why?

If a shared link stops working, there can be a few different reasons why. Check to see whether the link was disabled or expired. An admin may have also changed sharing settings for the team, so it may be worth checking with them.

Why did my shared folder stop syncing?

It’s possible that the folder isn’t actively shared between collaborators. Sign in to dropbox.com and click Shared in the left sidebar. Hover over the name of the folder and click Add. It should now sync back to your Dropbox.

Does joining a shared folder count against my storage space?

Yes, unless all members of the folder are part of the same Dropbox Business team account. If that’s the case, the shared folder will only be counted against the team’s shared storage space once.

Adjust shared link permissions

Make sure your team is sharing links with all the correct permissions in place.

how-do-i-set-team-wide-permissions_carousel-1-slide-1

Your trusty admin console

First thing’s first: go to your admin console, click Settings, and scroll down to Content. Then, select Sharing.