Skip to main content
How do I manage my organization's data?

How do I manage my organization's data?

Dropbox Business makes keeping track of all your data easy. It’s designed to grant access to admins, while providing companies with the security they need.

Activity everywhere

Dropbox Business is a great way to share and collaborate for all your coworkers, but all that activity means a lot of movement for your stuff.

Team spaces

Looking for a great way to manage company-owned data? Want to organize content by department or function? Managed team spaces are the way to go!

how-do-i-manage-company-data_carousel-1-slide-1

What are team spaces?

With Dropbox Business, your team shares a team space that functions like a shared drive for the whole team. Everyone on your team can access the team space, and everyone sees the same folder structure. This structure gives everyone the same context and helps the team stay organized without “shared folder overload.“

A little structure goes a long way

It’s easy to create a team folder and organize your team spaces. Want to know how? Read on to learn more about team spaces and team folders.

how-do-i-manage-company-data_a-little-structure-goes-a-long-way_card-1

Team spaces

If your Dropbox account is organized as a shared team space, everyone on your team can see the same folder structure in that space, but everyone on your team can customize access, too. If you can edit a folder in the shared workspace, that means you can add or remove users from it as well.

how-do-i-manage-company-data_a-little-structure-goes-a-long-way_card-2

Team folders

As an admin, you can organize the folder structure in the team space. To create a top-level folder in the team space, open the admin console, select Content, and click Create team folder From there, you can choose if you want everyone on your team to have access to this folder or only specific members. Team admins can also manage membership of any shared content from the content page too.

And if you create or move a shared folder in a team space, other members of the team can access it too.

See what it’s like on the other side

Looking for another way to manage company data? You can take a look into other accounts if you sign in as a user. If you sign in as a user, you can take any action that users can take in their own account.

It can help when you need to onboard or help set up a new team member, troubleshoot problems, or even keep projects moving if a team member is away.

how-do-i-manage-company-data_see-what-its-like-on-the-other-side_image
Keep watch

You can also monitor user activity through the Activity page in your admin console. From here, you can track how data is shared both inside and outside of the organization.

Dropbox Business records all sharing actions, so you can see who creates shared folders or shared links, who’s joining shared folders, changes made to those folders, changes in shared link permissions, and who’s sharing Paper docs.

Need more detail? Dropbox Business allows you to integrate third-party apps for more comprehensive tracking, like security information and event management software.

how-do-i-manage-company-data_keep-watch_image

Show me how

Take a look at these tutorials to learn more about ways you can manage data.

Creating a team folder

Team folders are great, and setting them up is easy.

Managing the shared workspace

With a shared team space, you can view, audit, create, and manage access to team content from the Content page in the admin console.

Reviewing your team’s activity

If you need to monitor a specific action or user, creating an activity report can help you stay on top of what’s happening with your data.

Common questions

Have a question about keeping track of data? We’ve likely got an answer. If you have a question that’s not listed here, check out help.dropbox.com for more answers.

What’s the difference between a team folder and a shared folder?

Shared folders are user-managed folders and can be shared with someone outside your team, if your admin allows it. Team folders and spaces are company-managed folders created and owned by the team admin and are shared with groups or a specific set of users.

How do I delete or archive a team folder?

Only admins can archive team folders. Open the admin console, select Content, then select the gear icon next to the folder you want to adjust. From the drop-down menu, select Archive.

Is there a limit to how many collaborators can access a team folder?

There is, and it’s in place to make sure folders still sync properly. If you reach the limit, you can remove members or reorganize your team folders to help resolve the issue.

Review shared folder user activity

Keep an eye on what happens inside of shared folders.

how-do-i-manage-company-data_carousel-2-slide-1

Start at your home base

Since this is an admin action, start at the admin console. From there, open the Activity page. You'll see a form at the top of the screen.