Skip to main content
How do I control my team’s access to Dropbox?

How do I control my team’s access to Dropbox?

No matter how big your team is, as a Dropbox Business admin you have plenty of options for managing Dropbox access.

Managing made easy

Whether you’re adding or removing members of your team, Dropbox Business makes user management easy.

Managing members vs. groups

If you have a big team, creating groups is a great way to organize your team members. Knowing how to manage individual members and groups from the admin console will help you stay organized.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_carousel-1-slide-1

Manage members

When it comes to managing the members of your Dropbox Business account, you have several controls available. You can reset passwords, suspend or delete users, and view individual activity logs.

To do so, click the Members page in the Admin Console.

Invite users in the admin console

There are a few ways to add members to your team through the Admin Console:

No matter which option you choose, Dropbox makes it easy to communicate with your team with these great email templates. Just copy, paste, and send!

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_invite-users-in-the-admin-console_image

Get everyone on board

If you use Active Directory (AD), you can use the Dropbox AD Connector to quickly provision users. For a more in-depth look, check out this help article. Note: the Dropbox AD Connector is available to Dropbox Business teams on an Advanced or Enterprise plan. 

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_get-everyone-on-board_card-1

Do you use Active Directory? Great! You can use the Dropbox AD Connector to easily provision, de-provision, and manage users and groups in Dropbox.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_get-everyone-on-board_card-2

The AD Connector works like a mirror, which reflects changes in your AD to your Dropbox. This is called one-way sync, but know that the AD Connector will never actually alter files or content in a Dropbox account.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_get-everyone-on-board_card-3

Here’s a tip: set up a user sync and a separate group sync when you set up your AD with Dropbox. This will offer you more flexibility when it comes to provisioning users.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_get-everyone-on-board_card-4

With Dropbox, there are many ways to provision users, in addition to the AD Connector, such as the admin console and IAM/IdP. Choose what’s best for you (and know that some of these methods require a little bit of technical knowledge, too).

Identify yourself

You may want to connect your Dropbox account to an identity management provider if you already use one, or if you have a complex, multi-forest Active Directory. Note: Single sign-on (SSO) is available to Dropbox Business teams on an Advanced or Enterprise plan.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_identify-yourself_card-1

Identity managers (IDMs)

Identity management offers admins a robust set of tools designed to simplify user lifecycle operations including creating and removing Dropbox accounts.

Take a look at this help article to learn which identity providers offer preconfigured settings for Dropbox.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_identify-yourself_card-2

Single sign-on (SSO)

SSO lets your team access Dropbox by signing in to a central identity provider. This makes life easier for your users—it gives them one less password to remember. If you’re already using an identity provider you trust and one that Dropbox supports, setting this up is easy. If you also manage SSO with your Cloud IDM, you can easily manage everything with your IDM provider.

Give accounts another chance

Just because someone leaves your Dropbox Business team, that doesn’t mean you need to delete the account entirely. You can transfer the account to another team member.

Why might you want to do that?

Let’s say someone’s stepping into a former employee’s role, and you want to easily and quickly get that new employee everything they need. Account transfer lets you do one of two things: you can transfer everything from the old account to a new user (including files, folders, and sharing relationships), or you can transfer the content to your admin account and pick and choose what goes to the new employee.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_give-accounts-another-chance_image

Suspend user and remote wipe

Sometimes you need to remove a user’s access to your Dropbox team. There are two ways to let you do that, both of which can be accessed from the admin console.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_suspend-and-remote-wipe_card-1

Suspend users

Suspending a user means that they will instantly lose access to their Dropbox Business team account and Paper docs. They can only get back in when an admin chooses to remove the suspension.

Suspending an account doesn’t free up a license, though. The account still exists, which means it’s still using that license. To free up the license, you’ll need to delete the account.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_suspend-and-remote-wipe_card-2

Remote wipe

Remote wipe lets you delete a Dropbox Business account from a team member’s connected devices. With this feature, you stay in charge of managing data on every device that it’s accessed from, and it’s perfect to use if one of your team members loses a device.

Once you unlink a device and use remote wipe, that device will immediately stop syncing.

Wait, don’t go!

Did you accidentally remove a team member? Didn’t mean to delete someone? No problem!

Dropbox Business admins have seven days to restore any deleted users. Restoring a user reactivates their account with the exact same files and permissions.

It’s like nothing even happened.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_wait-dont-go_image

Show me how

Take a look at these tutorials if you’re looking to learn more about how to give and remove access to your team.

Merging Dropbox teams

If there’s more than one Dropbox Business team in your organization, or maybe you’re working closely with another team, you might want to merge these two separate teams into one.

Common questions

Have a question about accessing Dropbox Business or removing your team’s access? We’ve likely got an answer. If you have a question that’s not listed here, check out help.dropbox.com for more answers.

How does SSO work with Dropbox security features, like two-step verification?

If you set up SSO, some Dropbox security features (like two-step verification or self-serve password resets), will no longer be in effect. This is because your identity provider is now handling all aspects of authentication. This lets you to add more layers of security through your identity provider.

One of my team members already has a Dropbox account. How do I add them into my Dropbox Business account?

Invite your team member as you would any new member. If they choose to join the team, then they’ll be prompted to decide what they want to do with their existing files: merge their files with the Dropbox Business account or create a separate personal Dropbox account for their files. Also, keep in mind that if that team member is part of an existing Dropbox Business team, they can’t join a second team.

How do I add another admin?

You can do this right from the Members page in the Admin Console. Find the member you want to make an admin, click the gear icon to the right of their name, and select Add admin permissions.

Add, suspend, or delete a user

Whether you’re adding or removing someone on your team, you can do it all from the admin console.

how-do-i-control-my-teams-access-to-dropbox_carousel-2-slide-1

Add a user

First things first: open your admin console and click Members in the left sidebar.